Crypto Commerce
Danby DBMW0721BBS compact microwave vs DDMW1125BBS: choosing a countertop microwave by space and dish size
Compare Danby DBMW0721BBS compact microwave by dish fit, exterior space, controls, wattage, and saved price.

Two countertop microwaves from the same brand can look interchangeable on a product grid. The Danby DBMW0721BBS has a 0.7-cubic-foot interior and a listed 700-watt output, while the DDMW1125BBS has a 1.1-cubic-foot interior and 1,000 watts. The larger unit also has a wider glass turntable and a larger exterior. Which one works better depends on the dishes a household reheats, the clear counter space, and how much the extra size is worth. The saved catalog lists both models as countertop units; neither should be planned as an over-the-range or built-in appliance from that description.
The Danby DBMW0721BBS compact microwave is listed at $212.38 in the September 30 catalog snapshot. Its 10-inch glass turntable gives a concrete first check for dinner plates and bowls. The exterior measurements are listed as 13 by 17.31 by 10.18 inches, and the unit weighs 23.81 pounds. A 41-inch cord is specified. This model has ten power levels, six one-touch food options, time- or weight-based defrost, express cooking from one to six minutes, a 30-second add button, and a child control lockout activated by holding STOP for three seconds.
The related guide comparing large and compact microwaves discusses another pair. Its main use here is to prompt the right questions about usable counter area and real dish fit; it does not test either Danby or establish their cooking results. The Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave is listed at $292.01. It has a 12.4-inch glass turntable, ten power levels, six cooking modes, auto defrost by time or weight, express cooking, 30-second additions, and a child lock. Its exterior measurements are listed as 15.75 by 20.18 by 12.06 inches, with a weight of 34.20 pounds.
Put a plate on the shortlist before comparing buttons — guide comparing large and compact microwaves
Capacity in cubic feet describes interior volume, but a plate has to rotate without catching the oven wall. The DBMW0721BBS turntable measures 10 inches. The DDMW1125BBS turntable measures 12.4 inches, a 2.4-inch increase. Measure the widest everyday dinner plate, a handled bowl, and the largest covered leftovers container. Allow for the handle and for any cover that sticks out beyond the dish. If one regularly used plate is already wider than the compact model's turntable, the larger model deserves attention even when meals are usually for one person.
A larger turntable still does not guarantee that every platter fits. Check the current manufacturer's interior dimensions and door opening, which are not stated in the saved excerpts. A rectangular container can be narrow enough to enter the door and still hit a wall as the tray turns. For a new appliance, test an empty dish after installation and before heating food. Do not defeat a rotating tray to squeeze in a dish unless the manufacturer's instructions permit that use. The real fit question includes height as well as diameter, especially for a covered mug or a tall food-storage container.
The 0.7-cubic-foot unit may suit one mug or a small bowl in a constrained kitchen. The 1.1-cubic-foot unit gives more room for shared plates or batch reheating. Those are intended-use judgments based on the specified size difference; the catalog contains no matched test showing how many meals either holds. Count how many people use the microwave at the same time and whether a larger plate is occasional or daily. An appliance sized for the regular dish is easier to live with than one chosen for an unusually large holiday container.
Measure the exterior and the clearances separately — Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave
The catalog gives two dimensional triples, but it does not label the axis order in the descriptions. Confirm height, width, and depth from the manufacturer's current specification sheet before drawing a cutout or shopping for a cart. The DDMW1125BBS triple is larger in each stated measure than the compact model's triple. It is also about 10.39 pounds heavier. A household moving the unit to clean a small counter should account for that weight, while a unit staying in one place may make dish size a higher priority.
A countertop microwave needs space around it according to its installation instructions. The exterior dimensions alone do not tell you how much open air to leave at the sides, back, or top. Mark a rectangle for the appliance and a second rectangle for required ventilation. Check whether an upper cabinet, wall, backsplash, or neighboring appliance crowds those spaces. Do not assume either unit can be placed inside a closed pantry shelf because the shell seems to fit. A tight fit may block airflow or make the door hard to open fully.
The compact model lists a 41-inch cord. The mid-size excerpt does not list cord length. Plan a grounded outlet close to the final position and check the manual's electrical requirements. Avoid designing the kitchen around a guessed cable reach. Look at where the plug exits the unit and how far the cord has to travel around a backsplash or shelf. The countertop depth also has to leave usable preparation space in front of the appliance.
Interpret the power numbers carefully — Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave
The catalog lists 700 watts for the compact DBMW0721BBS and 1,000 watts for the DDMW1125BBS. The compact row also mentions 700 watts of rated power. Do not treat every watt figure in a listing as a measured draw at the wall or as proof of a particular cooking time. The excerpts do not include a matched reheat test with identical food, starting temperature, container, and placement. A recipe's time for a different microwave will need adjustment and a food-temperature check regardless of which Danby is chosen.
The higher stated cooking power may matter to someone who reheats full plates frequently. For a person using the oven mostly to soften butter or heat a small beverage, the extra capacity and price could matter more than a few minutes of occasional use. Neither row provides energy-consumption data for a month of household operation. If the existing kitchen circuit shares several high-draw appliances, confirm electrical requirements from the manual and consider when those appliances run. A breaker limit is a property of the installation, so a catalog watt claim is not enough to certify the circuit.
Both models have ten power levels. The labels alone do not show whether their lower settings produce identical heating behavior. If gentle reheating is the main purpose, read the operation instructions for how power levels are selected and how the appliance cycles. Stir food, allow standing time where recommended, and check the center before serving. The power difference should influence the choice together with usable space and controls, without being turned into an unsupported claim that either one cooks every meal more evenly.
Compare the shared shortcuts with the differences — Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave
The compact model's six one-touch options are popcorn, potatoes, pizza, beverages, dinner plates, and reheating. The mid-size model's six listed modes are popcorn, potato, pizza, frozen vegetables, beverage, and dinner plate. The sets overlap heavily, while the named reheating option appears in the compact excerpt and frozen vegetables appears in the mid-size excerpt. A preset label is a convenience, not a sensor-performance claim. The saved rows do not say that either machine measures food humidity or changes timing to suit every serving size.
Both descriptions include time- and weight-based defrost, one-to-six-minute express cooking, and increments of 30 seconds. Think about the actions used every morning. A person heating coffee may care that a 30-second addition is easy to reach; someone defrosting regularly may want to see how the time and weight choices appear on the actual keypad. Try the current control layout in product photos or the manual. Similar feature lists can hide different button sequences, text size, or sounds, none of which the snapshot evaluates.
A child lock appears in both excerpts. Only the compact model's saved description gives the activation action: hold STOP for three seconds. The mid-size row does not specify its lock sequence. Check the manual if children may reach the countertop or if several adults use the appliance and need to know how to unlock it. A control lock reduces accidental keypad operation; it does not make hot food, steam, the door, or the power connection harmless. Place the oven at a height where users can remove a hot bowl steadily.
Account for finish and cleaning — Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave
The compact row calls the DBMW0721BBS a black microwave and also describes stainless steel construction. The mid-size DDMW1125BBS is described as silver with a stainless-steel finish. Those descriptions may refer to different visible parts of a single unit. Check the live product images and exact model page to see the finish of the unit being sold. A kitchen with limited counter space can make a dark front or a reflective finish look quite different after installation, especially under cabinets.
Both have glass turntables, so ordinary care starts with confirming that the tray and support are seated after cleaning. The 12.4-inch tray will be a larger part to wash and store temporarily than the 10-inch tray. Confirm whether each removable part is dishwasher-safe in its manual; the saved catalog does not state that. Clean spills promptly and inspect the door seal area so food residue does not obstruct closure. Do not use the catalog's stainless wording to infer that the whole interior has a particular coating or cleaning mode.
Price, warranty, and a decision for the actual kitchen — Danby DDMW1125BBS mid-size microwave
The snapshot's $292.01 mid-size price is $79.63 above the compact model's $212.38. Current checkout prices, delivery, and availability may differ from those saved amounts. The compact listing names a one-year limited manufacturer warranty; the mid-size excerpt does not provide warranty terms. Confirm each exact SKU's current warranty and return terms. If a dish cannot rotate or the required ventilation does not fit the planned counter, the purchase needs a practical return path.
Choose the DBMW0721BBS when counter area is scarce, the regular dishes fit a 10-inch tray, and its smaller cabinet makes access easier. Its lower saved price and listed cord length are useful concrete facts, subject to current confirmation. Choose the DDMW1125BBS when larger plates and containers are part of the everyday routine and the counter can accommodate its larger body plus specified ventilation. The watt and capacity figures support that distinction, but the actual dish, outlet, door clearance, and household habits settle it. Measure those before ordering, then verify the unit's fit and controls with the manual at installation.