Crypto Commerce

Canon SELPHY CP1500 4x6 photo printer — Four-by-six keepsake or two-by-three sticker-size print?

Compare Canon SELPHY CP1500 4x6 photo printer by print size, connections, included media, durability claims, and saved price.

By Republeq Editorial · 7 min read ·
Choosing Canon SELPHY CP1500 4x6 photo printer means weighing 4x6 keepsakes versus pocket stickers, media and print durability.

The Canon SELPHY CP1500 4x6 photo printer is offered here as a compact dye-sublimation printer bundled with a Canon RP-108 color-ink-and-paper set. A published guide to image resolution and print size explains why the source photo should be checked before enlarging it. The Kodak 2x3 Zink portable photo printer uses Zink paper without separate ink cartridges, and its saved kit includes 20 sheets plus scrapbook supplies. These products can both turn phone pictures into physical keepsakes, but the finished size and day-to-day workflow differ.

The catalog records $378 for the Canon bundle and $280 for the Kodak kit, a $98 saved difference. Both exact product pages and the related guide returned HTTP 200 when checked. Current prices, media quantities, and terms still need confirmation on the live offers. A photo printed at 4 by 6 inches occupies four times the area of a 2-by-3-inch print, although both have the same 2:3 shape. That size change affects where the print goes, how close someone will view it, and how much detail the source image should contain.

Decide what the physical photo is for — Kodak 2x3 Zink portable photo printer

Canon's listing centers on 4-by-6-inch dye-sublimation photos. That familiar size fits many small frames and album sleeves, and it can be handed around at a gathering without asking people to view a tiny screen. The saved description also names postcards, square labels, and mini stickers as format options. Check which additional paper or label stock those formats require; the included RP-108 set is named, but the excerpt does not say every optional format is supplied in this bundle. A buyer planning albums should start by counting the 4-by-6 prints actually wanted.

Kodak's offer produces 2-by-3-inch pictures and includes sticker frames, tape, markers, scissors, a scrapbook, and stickers. Those accessories make sense for a small craft table, travel journal, or a few prints handed to friends after an event. A 2-by-3 print has less physical room for small faces or text than a 4-by-6. If the aim is a framed group photo that will be viewed from across a room, check the result at actual size before ordering a pocket printer. The bundle's scrapbook tools are part of the saved offer, not proof that every future paper refill includes them.

Both print sizes share a 2:3 aspect ratio, so moving between them does not inherently change the shape of an uncropped 2:3 source. A phone image may still use another ratio, and the printer app may crop or leave borders. The related guide's image-size checks are useful here. Preview the exact photo with the chosen layout, especially if a face sits close to an edge. A crop that looks harmless on a phone can remove a person from a tiny print or leave awkward empty space on a larger one.

Match the connection to the person printing — Kodak 2x3 Zink portable photo printer

Canon names Wi-Fi, AirPrint, Mopria, and its SELPHY Photo Layout app for printing from a smartphone, tablet, or computer. That range may help a family where one person keeps images on a laptop and another uses a phone. Check the current device and operating-system requirements for the exact app and service you plan to use. The catalog does not state how the printer joins a guest network or whether every listed format can be started from every platform. Try a test print from the actual device before making an event schedule depend on it.

Kodak's description says the portable printer connects to a smartphone or tablet over Bluetooth. This may suit a simple phone-to-print routine at a craft table. The short excerpt does not describe computer printing or the exact app controls, so do not infer that a laptop is supported. If photos are edited and stored on a computer, decide how they will reach the phone or tablet before choosing the kit. Bluetooth pairing can also vary by operating system, so verify compatibility with the devices that will attend the event.

Think about who is operating the printer. A host who wants guests to send their own photos needs a method for receiving files and approving them before printing, regardless of the printer's wireless label. A parent who prepares an album in advance may prefer to select pictures on one computer. The saved product rows do not report setup time, connection range, or app reliability in a busy room. Those details are best checked with a small rehearsal using the intended device and network.

Compare the paper-and-ink routines — Kodak 2x3 Zink portable photo printer

The Canon bundle includes the SELPHY CP1500 and a Canon RP-108 high-capacity color-ink-and-paper set, according to the listing. Dye-sublimation uses the matched consumable system, so future printing requires buying compatible supplies. The excerpt names compatibility of that RP-108 set with several older SELPHY models, but it does not state the exact number of 4-by-6 prints included in this particular checkout quantity. Read the live package count and calculate the cost per planned print before comparing bundle prices. A name with a number is not a substitute for a verified sheet count.

Kodak uses Zink technology, which Republeq's catalog says needs no separate ink cartridge, ribbon, or toner. The saved kit lists 20 sheets of Zink photo paper. When those are used, the buyer will still need compatible replacement paper. No-cartridge printing does not mean free ongoing prints. Check refill availability and price, and confirm whether the preferred paper has the finish or adhesive backing desired for a journal. The bundle's craft pieces may be fun for one project but should not hide the recurring media cost.

For a fair estimate, make a list of the next fifty photos to print. Work out the current price of enough Canon media for fifty 4-by-6 prints and enough Kodak Zink paper for fifty 2-by-3 prints. Include any unused sheets or extra packs that would remain. The saved descriptions do not provide matched refill prices, so an exact cost-per-print comparison from these rows would be invented. The initial $98 gap is only the starting equipment-and-kit price.

Read speed and durability claims with their conditions — guide to image resolution and print size

Canon's Republeq's catalog says a 4-by-6 print takes 41 seconds. It also claims water, scratch, and fade resistance and longevity up to 100 years when stored in an album. The storage condition matters; the excerpt is not a guarantee that every exposed print will look the same after decades. If archival use is central, read the current Canon documentation for the specific paper, handling, and storage conditions. The product row does not offer a controlled comparison with Kodak prints left in sun or handled by children.

Kodak says a 2-by-3 print takes less than 60 seconds and describes the result as water-resistant, smudge-proof, and tear-resistant. It does not provide a matched album-longevity claim in the saved row. Different print sizes, source images, and tests make the two speed statements poor evidence of a winner in a real event. What matters may be how many prints can be prepared without interrupting guests to change media or reconnect a phone. Neither catalog description gives a sustained hourly output test.

Keep a small sample print of the actual image you care about. Check skin tones, dark areas, and readable details at the size that will be used. Canon's row calls its output lab quality, while the Kodak excerpt does not provide a clear numeric resolution specification. Check the exact model documentation if that figure matters for a project. Neither phrase replaces looking at a finished print. Ask for a credible sample or use the return terms to test the exact model if print appearance is the main reason to buy.

Plan where the printer and supplies will sit — Kodak 2x3 Zink portable photo printer

Kodak's unit is listed at 4.9 by 3.25 by 0.9 inches. That small body is easier to place beside a scrapbook or carry with a phone than a printer laid out for 4-by-6 paper. The saved description does not state battery runtime, charging method, or whether an adapter is included. Verify the power arrangement before taking it to a picnic, school event, or another place without an outlet. A portable body does not establish cordless operation.

Canon is described as slim and lightweight, but its saved row does not provide exact dimensions or a battery claim. It may be moved between rooms or brought to an event, yet a buyer should check the power supply and the clearance needed for paper before calling the setup travel-ready. The RP-108 media, power lead, and any spare paper also take space in a bag. Kodak's craft kit adds accessories to carry and organize. Write a packing list for the event rather than comparing only the printer bodies.

Choose Canon if 4-by-6 prints, a computer printing path, and the named dye-sublimation media fit the project. Choose Kodak if small 2-by-3 prints, phone or tablet Bluetooth printing, and the included scrapbook supplies fit it better. Verify live refill prices, current box contents, and the power setup for either one. Prepare a test image at the intended print size before buying a large supply of media; the photo's final use should determine the printer choice.

Canon SELPHY CP1500 4x6 photo printer | Kodak 2x3