Crypto Commerce
Maytag MFW7020RF Pet Pro washer or LG for a five-cubic-foot laundry setup?
Compare Maytag MFW7020RF Pet Pro washer by pet-hair filtering, detergent dosing, wash cycles, connected controls, fit, and saved price.

The Maytag MFW7020RF Pet Pro washer lists five cubic feet of capacity and a pet-hair collection option with a built-in filter. This related front-load washer fit guide discusses a different Whirlpool model. Its installation questions are useful, but its dimensions and features do not establish a fit for either washer here. The LG WM6700HBA front-load washer also lists five cubic feet. LG emphasizes automatic detergent dispensing, fabric and soil sensing, and a broad cycle menu.
The saved catalog minimums are $1,480.51 for Maytag and $1,935 for LG, a $454.49 difference before any current delivery or installation charges. Those are historical listing prices. Both exact product pages and the guide were live when checked, but a live page does not promise that a particular variant is still available at the saved amount. Start with what each household needs the washer to solve, then get the exact manuals and delivered quotes for the two models.
Compare the pet-related claims by task — LG WM6700HBA front-load washer
Maytag describes a Pet Pro option with a built-in filter intended to lift and trap pet hair during a wash using extra water and a deep rinse. That is a concrete design claim about collection during the cycle. The saved text does not give a measured hair-capture rate, filter capacity, or cleaning interval. Ask where the filter sits, how a user empties it, and whether the Pet Pro option changes cycle time or water use. A home with shedding animals may find those details more useful than another general-purpose cycle name.
LG lists an Allergiene cycle that uses steam and claims removal of over 95% of pet dander and dust mites. Dander and mites are different targets from visible hair on a blanket or sweater. The LG entry does not describe a built-in hair trap comparable to Maytag's. Do not convert the Allergiene percentage into a pet-hair-removal score. Conversely, a hair filter says little about an allergen cycle's results. If a household has both shedding and allergy concerns, compare each machine against the particular fabrics and substances that matter there.
Maytag also lists Sanitize and Steam Clean. The description connects Sanitize to elevated water temperature for household bacteria and allergens, while Steam Clean is described as a way to loosen stains. LG lists steam and a sanitary wash, but its saved excerpt does not provide a matched test of either model on the same load. Read each cycle's garment-care limits and temperature requirements before using it on bedding, pet covers, or delicate items. A strong-sounding cycle label cannot make a fabric safe for high heat.
Detergent handling may change daily use — LG WM6700HBA front-load washer
LG's ezDispense automatic dispenser is described as measuring and adding detergent. That could reduce the number of dosing decisions when loads vary, but the listing does not state its reservoir size, supported detergent types, or cleaning procedure. Check those points in the manual, especially if the household alternates liquid products or uses a specialty detergent. Automatic dosing is most useful when the machine can be set correctly for the detergent and soil levels the owner actually uses.
The Maytag excerpt discusses automatic water-level sensing and custom cycle settings, but does not describe an equivalent automatic detergent dispenser. Confirm how detergent and additives are loaded into the exact Maytag model. A buyer who already measures a consistent amount for each load may place little value on LG's dispenser. A buyer who runs many different loads may value repeatability, provided the dispenser handles their detergent. Neither saved listing contains a controlled comparison of detergent consumption.
The two machines also offer different ways to revisit a preferred wash. Maytag says custom cycle settings can be saved and describes an Add Garment feature for early forgotten items. LG lists 25 wash cycles, AI fabric and soil sensors, Add Item, and a Dial-A-Cycle knob with an LCD and touch buttons. A long cycle list is useful only if the names correspond to loads the household actually separates. Ask whether the controls are legible in the intended laundry space and whether a favorite combination can be found without navigating a long menu.
Read quick-cycle promises narrowly — LG WM6700HBA front-load washer
Maytag's description says Quick Wash can clean a lightly soiled small load in 15 minutes. That is a claim for a particular kind of load, not a promise for a full five-cubic-foot basket. LG describes TurboWash 360 with five jets and says a large load can be cleaned in under 30 minutes. The excerpt's footnote cites an older independent comparison of different LG models, WM3900HBA and WM4370HWA, with different load weights and TurboWash versions. It does not document a direct test of this LG against the Maytag.
Put the current cycle tables beside your normal loads. A hurried gym outfit, a week's towels, and a comforter create different questions about load size, wash action, spin, and drying. Ask how long each machine's ordinary cycle takes with the options you expect to select. Extra rinse, steam, or a higher soil setting can change the time. The faster advertised number may not describe the cycle that handles the household's most common basket.
Maytag's Extra Power option is framed as a way to boost stain cleaning on a selected wash cycle. LG names steam, ColdWash, and fabric and soil sensing among its options. These are distinct controls, with no matched stain-removal or fabric-wear result in the saved catalog. Before paying for a feature, decide whether the usual problem is a visible stain, lingering hair, detergent residue, or getting a load finished before bedtime. The answer points to different cycle behavior and different follow-up questions for the manual.
Plan the laundry space from drawings — front-load washer fit guide
Maytag's title calls it a 27-inch washer. The LG product title says its model is stackable, but the saved description does not give a complete exterior dimension set or the matching dryer and kit identifiers. Five cubic feet is a tub-capacity figure, not a cabinet opening or walkway clearance. Measure width, depth, door swing, access to water shutoffs, drain location, and service space. Get the manufacturer installation drawings for both exact models rather than projecting one washer's dimensions onto the other.
Stacking can save floor area, but it changes loading height and requires compatible hardware. If LG will be stacked, confirm the listed dryer and kit with the current LG documents. Maytag's saved entry does not specify a stack kit, so ask for its compatibility information separately if vertical installation is planned. A delivery quote should include the physical route into the laundry room as well as the final opening. A washer that fits on paper can still be difficult to bring through a narrow hallway or turn past a door.
Both listings describe high-capacity front-load machines, and Maytag mentions advanced vibration control while LG names an inverter direct-drive motor. Those labels do not state a comparable noise level or floor-vibration result. If the laundry room shares a wall with a bedroom, look for measured noise and the installation requirements for leveling and floor support. The actual spin setting and load balance will influence how a machine behaves there. A large towel load may be a better test than an empty demonstration cycle.
Decide how much connected control matters — LG WM6700HBA front-load washer
Maytag lists Wi-Fi control through its app, including starting, stopping, and monitoring laundry. Its description also claims compatibility with Alexa and Google Assistant. LG's ThinQ app is described as allowing remote start and stop, completion notifications, and maintenance reminders; the entry also says a connected LG dryer can select a compatible dry cycle through Smart Pairing. Those descriptions establish possible functions, but do not guarantee that every phone, region, network, or dryer model will support each one. Check current app requirements and compatible dryer lists if connected control is part of the purchase.
Remote start may help someone who has loaded the drum but wants to run the cycle later. A completion alert may be useful when the laundry room is distant from the living space. Neither feature removes the need to load detergent, check pockets, clean a filter, and move wet clothes. LG's Smart Pairing has most value in a paired LG setup. If the household already owns a dryer from another brand, do not add pairing value to the LG price without checking compatibility.
Maytag's 16 Hour Fresh Hold is described as intermittent tumbling and fan operation after the wash. That could be useful when clothes cannot be transferred immediately, but the saved listing does not quantify its energy use or compare the resulting fabric condition with LG. LG's excerpt describes notifications rather than an equivalent post-cycle hold. Ask about the available end-of-cycle options for both exact models. The best answer depends on whether someone is home to move laundry promptly.
Count maintenance and the full offer — LG WM6700HBA front-load washer
Maytag lists an Affresh washer-cleaning cycle and a pet-hair filter that will need attention. LG's ThinQ description mentions maintenance reminders, and an automatic dispenser creates its own cleaning questions. Neither entry gives a maintenance calendar for this particular home. Read the owner's manual for filter access, dispenser care, and cleaning-cycle instructions. Check whether the door can remain safely ajar to dry in the installed location and whether the drain or pump can be reached without moving a stacked unit.
The saved $454.49 gap should be weighed against the functions that solve a real problem. Maytag offers a named hair-trapping option, a 16-hour post-cycle hold, and the lower saved minimum. LG lists automatic dosing, 25 cycles, connected dryer pairing, and its own allergen-focused claim. These are Republeq's product descriptions, not a head-to-head lab result. Confirm the current model suffix, delivery and haul-away terms, warranty, and any required installation accessories on both live offers. Then choose the washer whose documented functions fit the household's laundry and whose complete installed cost fits the budget.