Crypto Commerce
Kenmore 4.4 cu ft top-load washer — Two top-load washers for different laundry problems
Compare Kenmore 4.4 cu ft top-load washer by load size, cycles, water choices, controls, and laundry-room fit.

The Kenmore 02629162 and Maytag MTW7200RW listings both describe full-size top-load washers, yet they emphasize different work. Kenmore names a 4.4 cu ft basket, a Triple Action agitator, quick and bulky-load cycles, and a Deep Fill option. Maytag names a 5.3 cu ft basket, a Power Impeller, a Pet Pro hair filter, app controls, and a built-in faucet for pretreating. If pet hair is the repeated frustration, one set of features may stand out; if the question is how a bulky load moves around an agitator, another does. These are catalog descriptions, not the result of washing the same clothes in both machines.
The Kenmore 4.4 cu ft top-load washer lists a stainless basket, soft-close glass lid, detergent and fabric-softener dispenser, and an LCD screen. Its source says Accela-Wash can shorten full-size loads and that Express can clean small or lightly soiled loads in as little as 28 minutes. The Maytag listing is for model MTW7200RW, identified as a 5.3 cu ft smart top-loader. Before treating either cycle claim as a weekly time saving, count the loads you really run and ask how long those exact cycles take for your clothes, water temperature, and chosen options.
Begin with the load, not the tub number — top-load washer load planning
The published guide to top-load washer load planning compares machines by the household load and the controls that matter to it. Use the same approach here. A 5.3 cu ft figure is larger than 4.4 cu ft, but neither saved description gives a maximum dry-load weight or a test of how well a comforter turns in the basket. Pick the largest item you routinely wash, check its care label, and ask whether the exact model's manual permits it. A washer that accepts the item but cannot move it properly may not solve the chore.
Kenmore says its Triple Action agitator cleans the load, while its Bulky/Bedding cycle uses hot water and varied wash motions. Maytag describes a Power Impeller with a triple-action spray. These are different wash mechanisms, but the saved excerpts do not measure their fabric wear, soil removal, or ability to turn a particular comforter. Ask about minimum and maximum load guidance, where detergent goes, and how each machine handles a tightly packed basket. The extra stated Maytag volume cannot be translated into an extra number of shirts without knowing fabric type, loading pattern, and the machine's operating limits.
For a family, list three recurring loads: everyday mixed clothing, pet bedding or towels, and a bulky sheet or comforter. Note which needs warm or hot water, which can use cold, and which gets heavily soiled. Then compare the model manuals' programs with that list. This is more useful than comparing every named cycle with equal weight. A washer with a long menu may still leave the one awkward load for a laundromat, while a smaller menu can work if it covers the family's repeated tasks.
Decide how pet hair is handled — Maytag MTW7200RW Pet Pro washer
The Maytag MTW7200RW Pet Pro washer description names a built-in Pet Pro filter for hair. That is a concrete part to inspect if blankets or clothes often leave the dryer covered in fur. Ask where the filter sits, how often it must be cleared, and whether it operates on all cycles. The saved excerpt does not give a measured percentage of hair removed from a defined load. Its wording also mixes in a dryer lint-trap statement, which should not be treated as a washer feature. Confirm the exact washer's filter and included parts from Maytag's current instructions.
Kenmore's saved source does not name a dedicated pet-hair filter. That absence does not prove it cannot wash pet bedding or that it has no lint-catching arrangement. It means this particular description gives less specific evidence for hair handling. Ask how pet hair is flushed, caught, or cleaned from the machine after a load. The stainless basket and Clean Washer cycle may be relevant to routine care, but neither is a measured pet-hair result. If this is the reason for a new washer, seek a test using similar fabric and hair before assuming a feature name settles it.
Hair control also depends on the rest of the laundry routine. Shake or brush heavily covered items before washing when the fabric care instructions allow, and check pockets and closures that catch debris. Clean the filter or machine parts as the chosen model directs. An advertised washer filter should reduce a chore only if the household will maintain it. Think through whether the part is easy to reach in your laundry space, especially if the machine sits in a narrow closet with shelving over the lid.
Compare water choices and stain work — Maytag MTW7200RW Pet Pro washer
Kenmore's Deep Fill option adds water when needed according to its listing. It also names Cold Clean, a Bulky/Bedding cycle, and a Clean Washer cycle for periodic care. Maytag says Auto Sensing adjusts water levels and that a built-in faucet lets you rinse, soak, or pretreat a spot at the machine. These controls answer different questions. If you often treat a child's uniform or a work shirt before washing, the faucet could save a trip to the sink. If you want direct water-level influence on a bulky load, Kenmore's named option is worth examining. Ask exactly which cycles permit each function.
Maytag describes Extra Power as adding an intense prewash and agitation for stains. Kenmore describes its agitator and cycle variety, but its saved excerpt does not give a directly comparable stain-removal result. Neither source tells you how much detergent, time, and water a specific dirty load needs. Use the fabric care label and the manufacturer's cycle chart as the guardrails. More water, more agitation, or hotter water is not automatically better for every garment. Verify that the options you expect can be combined on the actual machine, rather than assuming every button works with every program.
Maytag's listing also names a Sanitize with Oxi cycle and gives a 99.9% odor-causing-bacteria removal claim. The saved excerpt does not state test conditions, a certification, or which additives are required. If sanitizing performance is essential, obtain the current exact-model documentation and follow both the machine and fabric instructions. Do not treat the percentage as a guarantee for every household load. Kenmore's source does not supply a comparable sanitation figure, so this cannot become a measured ranking between them.
Check controls, time, and the room — Maytag MTW7200RW Pet Pro washer
Kenmore provides local controls and an LCD screen in the saved source. Maytag names app monitoring, alerts, and controls. An app can be convenient when a load finishes while you are in another room, but the excerpt does not state network requirements, account-sharing behavior, or which cycle settings can be changed remotely. Check the current app requirements for the exact MTW7200RW. If the household prefers knobs and buttons at the machine, make sure all ordinary tasks can be completed there even when a phone or network is unavailable. The saved listing does not settle that either.
Kenmore's Express cycle claim of as little as 28 minutes applies to small or lightly soiled loads as described. Its Accela-Wash percentage claim refers to a different full-size-load comparison whose baseline is not explained in the saved excerpt. Maytag's source includes a Quick Wash & Dry phrase that appears to combine washer and dryer work; verify the washer-only time from the current cycle chart before comparing it with Kenmore's Express. A cycle's wash time also excludes sorting, pretreating, transferring, and drying. Check the program you will actually choose, not the shortest number on a listing.
Both machines need space above the lid for loading. Kenmore specifies a soft-close glass lid; Maytag names a slow-close glass lid. Neither saved excerpt gives the full exterior dimensions, lid-open height, hose clearances, or electrical requirements. Measure the washer location, including any shelf above it, the door into the room, the water valves, and the drain. Request current installation drawings for both models. A larger basket could come in a cabinet that needs more clearance, but the capacity figures alone cannot tell you whether either one fits.
Maytag's source says its direct-drive motor has a ten-year limited parts warranty. That is a specific claim to verify against the current warranty document; it does not describe the entire machine's coverage or labor terms. Kenmore's saved excerpt does not give a comparable warranty. Check who services each model in your area and how to access filters, dispensers, and cleaning cycles. A washer used several times a week should be practical to clean and repair as well as to load.
Choose Kenmore if its agitator, Deep Fill, local controls, and named quick and bulky programs line up with your recurring loads. Choose Maytag if the larger stated basket, pet-hair filter, pretreat faucet, and app controls address work you actually do. Confirm dimensions, model-specific cycle charts, hair-filter maintenance, and the exact warranty before ordering. A useful washer is the one that can handle the household's troublesome load within the space and routine you have, not the one with the longer feature list.