Laptops & Desktop PCs
HP 14 N150 vs ASUS Vivobook 14 X1404VA: value the one-year Office offer
Compare HP 14 N150 and ASUS Vivobook 14 X1404VA by the stated one-year Office bundle, actual memory, local file space, screen and setup needs.

Check your existing Office access before assigning value to HP's included software year. HP 14 N150 vs ASUS Vivobook 14 X1404VA compares two blue 14-inch Windows laptops with different installed configurations. HP lists a one-year Office 365 subscription alongside 4GB of memory and 128GB of storage. ASUS lists 16GB DDR4 and a 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD, without a comparable Office offer in its description.
Both actual products are in Republeq's Laptops category, with HP and ASUS identified as their native brands. The ASUS here is the X1404VA configuration with an Intel Core i3-1315U. It is a separate offer from a Vivobook with a different processor or bundle. The HP offer identifies Intel N150; use the exact selected configuration and invoice rather than a generic HP 14 family name.
The illustration uses generic blue laptops and a buyer reviewing software and file requirements. It does not depict these exact retail configurations or prove which applications are included. The offered software term comes from the product description and needs confirmation for the purchase.
Read the one-year Office laptop bundle as a specific offer
The HP 14 Intel N150 offer says Windows 11 Home is preinstalled and a one-year Microsoft Office 365 subscription is included, naming Word, Excel and PowerPoint. That is more specific than a general reference to bundled software. It still does not describe the complete activation, account or subscription terms for the selected purchase.
A one-year Office laptop bundle should be checked against the applications and access you already have. If school, work or an existing purchase supplies the required software, ask whether that access can be used on the proposed device. The additional offer may have little value to that particular buyer. If you need the supplied subscription, confirm that its actual edition and use terms cover the work you intend to do.
Ask when the included year begins and how the buyer receives and activates the stated access. Obtain any relevant account, region or eligibility terms from the seller. The description does not answer those questions. It also does not state the cost or options after that period, so a plan to keep the laptop longer needs a separate software-cost decision.
The live buying guide to device software bundles examines unnamed camera software and a board's app-ecosystem claim. Its relevant purchase question is whether the offer gives access to the particular application needed. Here HP names a one-year Office subscription, so the unresolved question is the exact entitlement and activation terms, rather than the identity of an entirely unnamed program.
ASUS's description does not state an equivalent included Office subscription. Do not count one as part of that offer without confirmation. Compare the full software plan for each laptop, including access you already have and any application you would need to obtain separately. An operating-system edition and an application entitlement answer different purchase questions.
Check the 14-inch laptop configuration before counting a software saving
The ASUS Vivobook 14 X1404VA configuration lists 16GB DDR4 memory and a 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD. HP lists 4GB memory and 128GB storage. The HP description does not identify the storage interface or give a memory generation. Those missing details should remain open if they affect the order.
A 14-inch laptop configuration needs to meet the actual application requirements before a bundle is given a financial value. Read the requirements for the program you expect to use and consider the other applications that remain open during the work. If a stated requirement exceeds 4GB, obtain a suitable offered configuration instead of treating included software as a solution to the memory gap.
Look at the existing computer during a normal session. A document, a browser and a call can have different requirements from a single website. The two listings do not provide a matched test of that session, so the capacity figures do not supply an exact responsiveness ranking. Use the application's requirements and relevant tests when performance determines the purchase.
ASUS's larger listed memory amount is a reason to investigate it when the intended work needs that capacity from delivery. It should not be valued as a guarantee that every task feels faster. If your work fits the HP's configuration, compare the remaining purchase details and the complete software cost rather than buying capacity only because its number is larger.
Neither description supplies a verified memory-upgrade procedure for the offered unit. Ask for the exact supported arrangement before buying the HP on the assumption that its 4GB can later be increased, or before treating ASUS's 16GB as replaceable. An upgrade plan needs the actual configuration and support terms, rather than a specification from a related model.
Fit the files you need on the installed drive
HP's nominal 128GB and ASUS's nominal 512GB describe different local storage capacities. The smaller amount must also accommodate the operating system and applications. Check the folders and downloads that need to stay on the laptop when internet access is unavailable. A listed drive size does not promise that the whole capacity remains free after setup.
For a buyer keeping a large local library or several substantial applications, ASUS's larger stated SSD can remove an immediate space constraint. If the work mainly uses websites with few local files, HP can remain a candidate after the available space and required installations are established. The exact file plan matters more than a general description of everyday use.
Both descriptions list Windows 11 Home. The live buying guide to laptop applications and software terms compares different ASUS and Lenovo offers, including an initial S-mode setup and a separately advertised Office bundle. Its useful distinction is between an operating-system setup and an application entitlement. Keep that guide's S-mode and Lenovo Office statements tied to its two configurations; they do not establish the setup or software rights of this HP and ASUS pair.
Before choosing a laptop to modify, establish whether replacing or adding storage is supported on the exact unit. The descriptions do not give complete spare-slot inventories or the procedure for moving the operating system. If the required files must fit immediately, choose a confirmed configuration that provides the space without relying on an unverified alteration.
Compare the actual screen at the size you will read
HP lists a 14-inch HD BrightView display at 1366 by 768 pixels. ASUS lists a 14-inch FHD anti-glare LED display at 1920 by 1080 pixels. These are the same stated diagonal with different pixel dimensions. Open a representative document or spreadsheet at the scaling you prefer before deciding which screen fits the task.
The higher ASUS pixel count gives a different image grid, without establishing that every buyer can comfortably use smaller text. Display scaling and viewing distance affect the usable workspace. Neither source provides a matched brightness, color or readability test, so an HD or FHD label cannot answer every question about a room with reflections or a long reading session.
For a desk that uses an external monitor, confirm the actual laptop output and the intended display mode. Both descriptions name HDMI, but HP's version entry is written as HDMI 1.13b and needs confirmation for the actual unit. The ASUS description does not state a complete mode table either. Confirm the connector, cable and monitor arrangement before treating it as ready.
Count the connections and the equipment included
HP names USB-C at 5Gbps, two USB-A ports at 5Gbps and a combined headphone/microphone connection. ASUS names three USB-A ports, one USB-C port and a combined audio connection without equivalent data-rate detail for every socket. Count the devices that remain connected and leave reachable ports for equipment you reconnect often.
A USB-C connection does not by itself establish display output or the charging arrangement you expect. Ask for those capabilities for either model when a dock or peripheral depends on them. The laptop descriptions do not verify that one cable can provide the whole desk setup.
HP names built-in Wi-Fi and Bluetooth without giving comparable standards here. The captured ASUS description does not provide an equivalent radio inventory. Obtain the actual network and accessory specifications if the laptop needs to work on a particular wireless setup. Neither page reports a connection test in your room.
ASUS identifies a 720p HD camera. HP's reviewed description does not give a camera specification. If calls are central to the purchase, confirm the actual camera and microphone arrangement, then test the meeting application in similar lighting. The camera resolution alone does not supply a complete call-quality comparison.
Choose the package that will do the work from delivery
HP identifies the Intel N150 as a four-core processor; ASUS identifies a six-core Intel Core i3-1315U. Their maximum frequency and core-count statements do not provide a controlled performance ranking of the complete laptops. Neither description gives a matched battery-runtime result, so obtain relevant tests if speed or a travel day's outlet plan determines the purchase.
ASUS states a weight of 3.09 pounds and a thickness of 0.7 inches. HP uses lightweight wording without a comparable weight in the description. Measure the bag and planned desk space if carrying or fit is important. The wording does not establish that HP is lighter, nor does the shared 14-inch diagonal establish identical chassis dimensions.
Investigate HP when the confirmed one-year software access is useful and its supplied memory, available local space and HD screen fit the intended work. Confirm the subscription terms and any missing hardware details before counting a software saving. This guide does not identify a verified current delivered-price winner.
Investigate ASUS when its listed 16GB, 512GB SSD or FHD screen addresses a requirement that the HP offer does not meet. Confirm the application access you would use and the actual ports and support terms. If an application requires more than 4GB, settle that requirement before using HP's included year to decide the purchase. If your existing Office access is usable on either laptop, compare the actual hardware and complete delivered price for HP 14 N150 vs ASUS Vivobook 14 X1404VA.